Monday, July 13, 2009

This Just Has to be a Scam

So I am trying to sell my car and I posted an ad on craig's list for it. I don't like giving out my email or phone to the world (they did call one guy the "craigslist killer" after all), but sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. So I got a few responses, but this one's a hoot. What do you think?

Hey, i might be interested in your vehicle but first i need to know
how much insurance is going to cost. I found a place that gives you
quotes for free, so i put the link below. The quotes seem cheap
aswell, since i used it for my old vehicle, it could be good for your
current vehicle too :)

http://adcurl.com/ad24

Regards,
Wade

Even my laptop smelled fishy after reading that. I looked up "adcurl" and found very little to no information on it. So, call me untrusting and suspecting, I decided not to click on it. Isn't insurance dependent as much on the driver (age, sex, history) as the car itself? And don't most insurance companies offer free quotes? Here is another interesting thing. The gmail address is listed to a "Mauricio Rahimi" instead of "Wade" and this email was sent to several car ads in addition to mine.

In these times of scammers and ID thefts, I don't think I am going to reply to any email short of, "Saw the car ad, when can I come look at it?"

Though honestly, if I had to guess, I would imagine the link just takes you to an advertisement that counts visitors and "Wade" gets credit for them. That was my 1st thought, at least.

1 comments:

yuri said...

Sorry, I don't know why I signed my name as Wade. And I was trying to scam you, double sorry. When are you leaving?